UWF quarterback Austin Reed and head coach Pete Shinnick were named the National Freshman of the Year and National Coach of the Year, respectively, as the 2019 Don Hansen Football Gazette NCAA Division II All-All-America teams were announced on Monday.

Offensive tackle Samuel Antoine was named Second Team All-America on offense at his tackle position, while Reed added Honorable Mention All-America honors. They mark the ninth and tenth All-America recognitions in the 4-year history of the program.

For Shinnick, it is the second time in three seasons (2017) to earn the award from the outlet. He was also previously named the 2019 Division II National Coach of the Year by

Reed threw for 4,089 yards and 272.6 yards per game – 13th nationally – while going 13-1 as a starter after taking over the starting role after week one. He completed 57 percent of his passes and tossed 40 touchdowns while rushing for six more. The St. Augustine, Fla. product was responsible for 278 points and ranked 12th in the country with 18.5 points per game.

Antoine completed a standout career with 13 starts in 2019 while appearing in all 41 contests during his three seasons at UWF. In 2019, the Weston, Florida native helped UWF average 412.3 yards of total offense, with 281.2 through the air and 131.1 on the ground.

UWF finished 13-2 overall in 2019 after winning the program’s first national championship, 48-40 over Minnesota State, on Dec. 21. The Argonauts completed one of the most remarkable postseason runs in NCAA history, defeating three number one seeds and four-consecutive undefeated teams for the first time ever en route to the University’s 10th team national championship.

The Argos beat each of the other four teams in the top five during their 2019 run. MSU finished second, followed by Ferris State at No. 3, Lenoir-Rhyne at No. 4 and Valdosta State at No. 5. Wingate, UWF’s opening round opponent, ended the year at No. 19.

Shinnick is 35-17 in four seasons at UWF, which includes a 9-1 record in postseason play. He is 138-63 all-time as a college head coach spanning 18 seasons with stops at Azusa Pacific and UNC Pembroke.

Other national award winners were: Slippery Rock’s Roland Rivers, III was the Offensive Player of the Year; Ferris State’s Austin Edwards was the Defensive Player of the Year; and Fort Hays State’s Dante Brown was the Special Teams Player of the Year. Shinnick shared the Coach of the Year Award with Slippery Rock’s Shawn Lutz.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazettefor three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen’s Football Gazettebegan selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

***This report was provided by Brian Henry, Director of UWF Athletic Communications